GCPS Names Lawrenceville's Teachers of the Year

The winners from the individual schools will be in the running for the county's teacher of the year award.

Gwinnett County announced their top teachers for the 2011-2012 school year. One teacher was named Teacher of the Year at each of the 129 schools in the Gwinnett County Public Schools system. Their colleagues selected each honoree.

Out of all the schools' winners, 25 will be selected as semi-finalists for the countywide Teacher of the Year award. Those names will be announced later this month. The group will then be whittled down to a field of six finalists in mid-October. The announcement of Gwinnett's Teacher of the Year will be announced at an annual banquet on Thursday, November 3rd, 2011.

Here are the 2012 Teachers of the Year winners at Lawrenceville schools:




Alford Elementary

Stephanie Engwall

3rd Grade Teacher

Archer High

Pam S. Autrey

Technical Education


(Grades 9-12)

Benefield Elementary

Urike Brown

5th Grade Teacher

Bethesda Elementary

Michael Stanton

4th Grade Teacher

Cedar Hill Elementary

Crystal Willis

Reading and Writing


(Grade 4)

Central Gwinnett High

Lori Wood

Special Education

Teacher - Social Studies (Grades 9-12)

Craig Elementary

Elizabeth “Liz” Hiers

Art Specialist (Grades K-5)

Crews Middle

Charlie Hollingshead

Reading and Writing


(Grades 6-8)

Five Forks Middle

Justin Gorun

Special Education

Teacher – Severe and Profound Intellectual Disabilities (Grades 6-8)

Gwin Oaks Elementary

Linda Layson

5th Grade Teacher

Gwinnett County Online Campus

Christian Gray

Science Teacher

(Grades 9-12)

Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology

Jeff Burmester

Physics Teacher

(Grades 11-12)

Jackson Elementary

Amy Norris

2nd Grade Teacher

Jenkins Elementary

Nicole Kidwell

5th Grade Teacher

Kanoheda Elementary

Roslyn Acosta

Art Specialist

(Grades K-5)

Lawrenceville Elementary

Brenda M. Jones

Literacy Coach (Grades K-5)

Lovin Elementary

Nancy Streicher

3rd Grade Teacher

Maxwell High School of Technology

Scott Wilson

Law and Justice Teacher

(Grades 11-12)

McKendree Elementary

Jason Garner

Science Specialist

(Grades K-5)

Mountain View High

Debbie White

Biology and Chemistry

Teacher (Grades 9-12)

Oakland Meadow School

Sharon Vargo

Special Education

Teacher - Emotional and Behavioral Disorders (Grades 3-5)

Phoenix High

Pasha Souvorin

Digital Media Teacher

(Grades 9-12)

Richards Middle

Paula Richards-Bell

Language Arts Teacher

(Grade 8)

Rock Springs Elementary

Christa U. Webb

4th Grade Teacher

Simonton Elementary

Humphrey Fraser

Physical Education Teacher

(Grades K-5)

Sweetwater Middle

Patrick Shannon

Language Arts Teacher

(Grade 7)

Taylor Elementary

Suzanne Boyd

Special Education

Teacher - Mild Autism (Grades K-3)

Winn Holt Elementary

Tracey Rivers

Science Specialist

(Grades 3-5)


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »