Nash, Brooks and Hunter to Be Sworn in to County Commission Sunday

The group swearing-in ceremony will take place at the Gwinnett Justice and Administration Center in Lawrenceville, Ga.

Gwinnett Commission Chairman Charlotte Nash, District 1 Commissioner Jace Brooks and District 3 Commissioner-elect Tommy Hunter, will be sworn in Sunday, Dec. 30 at the Gwinnett County Justice and Administration Center. 

Nash, who has served 18 months as chairman since winning a special election in March of 2011, was unopposed in both the Primary and General Election and will begin a full four-year term in January.

Hunter defeated two-term incumbent commissioner Mike Beaudreau in the August runoff and was unopposed in the General Election. He takes office in January. Hunter will represent part of Lawrenceville.

Brooks, a former Suwanee City Coucil member, took office in September after he was the sole candidate to qualify for a special election to fill the District 1 vacancy created by the resignation of Shirley Lasseter. He was unopposed in the General Election and begins a four-year term in January.

Brooks represents Duluth, Suwanee and Sugar Hill on the commission.

Chief Magistrate George F. Hutchinson III will administer the oath of office and preside over the ceremony.

The 3 p.m. ceremony at the Gwinnett Justice and Administration Center, 75 Langley Drive in Lawrenceville, is open to the public.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »