Ludwig Symphony Orchestra's Fall Fiest Gala

 ,   Add to calendar
 Duluth  See map

The Ludwig Symphony Orchestra presents "A Beethoven Fall Fiesta" gala concert for the opening of its fifteenth season on Sunday, November 4, 2012 at 4:00 p.m. at the Gwinnett Center-Performing Arts Center. The afternoon's  performance features internationally renowned Brazilian pianist-Paulo Ricardo Gazzaneo  interpreting the popular Beethoven "Emperor"  Piano Concerto No. 5, local African-American soprano-Leah McRath in arias by Puccini, Verdi, and Cilea,  Chinese violinist-Luke Hsu performing the Vieuxtemps Violin Concerto No. 5, and Puerto Rican guest conductor-Helen Gonzalez conducting Chabrier's flamboyant "Espana".


     Paulo Ricardo Gazzaneo is one of the most distinguished students of Hans Graff at the Vienna Academy of Music and Ferenc  Rados at the Liszt Academy in Budapest. Having concertized all over the world, critics have noted "a high degree of precision and mastery of qualities of elegance and virtuosic flair" in Mr. Gazzaneo's  performances. Currently he is pianist and conductor with the Philharmonic Orchestra of Brazil in Sao Paulo and Executive Director of the Braganca Paulista International Music Festival.


     Luke Hsu began his career at age eleven when  he won first prize in the Houston Symphony Violin Competition and performed the Paganini Concerto with both the Houston and Dallas Symphonies. Critics have said that "Hsu is in a class by himself with total command of the instrument and fearless technical facility". A prize winner in the Montreal International Violin Competition and the Michael Hill International Competition, in 2010 Luke Hsu performed all the Beethoven Sonatas in Vienna. He currently studies at Rice University with Cho-Liang Lin.


     Leah McRath is one of those special sopranos who critics have said "possesses a voice that would make the angels weep". A graduate of Kennesaw State University,  Indiana University, and participant in masterclasses with Frederica von Stade, Ms. McRath will interpret the lovely "Vissi D'Arte" from Puccini's Tosca, "Io son l'umilie ancella" from Cilea's Adriana Lecouvreur, and the dramatic "Pace, pace, mio Dio" from Verdi's-La Forza Del Destino.


     Helen Gonzales made her conducting debut in 2008 with the Puerto Rico Philharmonic Orchestra. One of the most dynamic young stars of the conducting world, Ms. Gonzales has worked with the Casals Festival in San Juan, the Puerto Rico Symphony Orchestra, and received her masters degree in conducting with Michael Palmer at Georgia State University.


Maestro Thomas Ludwig, former music director of the New York City Symphony and resident   conductor for American Ballet Theatre with Mikhail Baryshnikov at the Metropolitan Opera House, will lead the eighty-five piece orchestra in a program that includes Verdi's- Triumphal March from Aida and the Atlanta premiere of Ludwig's Symphony No. 2.(The  beautiful Adagietto for harp and strings from this symphony was written for an infant beggar girl of the Zona Rosa in Mexico City)


Tickets may be purchased by calling 770-623-8623 or online at www.ludwigsymphony.org. Prices:  Adults-$22. Seniors-$19. (over 65) and Students $12. (under 21)


For information: call 770-623-8623 or online at www.ludwigsymphony.org


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »